Skip Navigation

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

 

Contact Key Grantees

Superfund Research Program

Key SRP Grantee Personnel:


Back to top Back to top

Superfund Research Multiproject Grantees

Boston University


David H Sherr, Center Director
Receptor-Based Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity of Superfund Chemicals
Phone: 617-638-6464
Fax: 617-638-6463
dsherr@bu.edu
Laura Badgett, Center Administrator
Receptor-Based Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity of Superfund Chemicals
Phone: 617-638-4620
Fax: 617-638-4857
lbadgett@bu.edu
Madeleine Kangsen Scammell, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 617-638-4454
Fax: 617-638-4857
mls@bu.edu

Brown University


Kim Boekelheide, Center Director
Reuse in RI: A State-Based Approach To Complex Exposures
Phone: 401-863-1783
Fax: 401-863-9008
kim_boekelheide@brown.edu
Laura Bridge, Center Administrator
Reuse in RI: A State-Based Approach To Complex Exposures
laura_bridge@brown.edu
Eric M Suuberg, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 401-863-1420
eric_suuberg@brown.edu

Columbia University


Joseph H Graziano, Center Director
Health Effects and Geochemistry of Arsenic and Manganese
Phone: 212-305-1678
Fax: 212-305-3857
jg24@columbia.edu
Lee Marsi, Center Administrator
Health Effects and Geochemistry of Arsenic and Manganese
Phone: 212-305-7303
Fax: 212-305-3857
lpm4@columbia.edu
Steven N Chillrud, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 845-365-8893
Fax: 845-365-8155
chilli@ldeo.columbia.edu
Meredith Golden, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 845-365-8968
Fax: 845-365-8922
mgolden@ciesin.columbia.edu

Dartmouth College


Bruce A Stanton, Center Director
Sources and Protracted Effects of Early Life Exposure to Arsenic and Mercury
Phone: 603-650-1775
Fax: 603-650-1130
bruce.a.stanton@dartmouth.edu
Joanne M. Tortolano, Center Administrator
Sources and Protracted Effects of Early Life Exposure to Arsenic and Mercury
Phone: 603-643-3839
Fax: 603-643-3595
joanne.m.tortolano@dartmouth.edu
Celia Y Chen, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 603-646-2376
Fax: 603-646-1347
celia.y.chen@dartmouth.edu

Duke University


Richard T Di Giulio, Center Director
Developmental Toxicants: Mechanisms, Consequences, and Remediation
Phone: 919-613-8024
Fax: 919-668-1799
richd@duke.edu
Eve Marion, Center Administrator
Developmental Toxicants: Mechanisms, Consequences, and Remediation
Phone: 919-613-8078
Fax: 919-668-1799
emarion@duke.edu
Charlotte Clark, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 919-684-3159
Fax: 919-684-5833
cclark@duke.edu

Harvard School of Public Health


David C Bellinger, Center Director
Superfund Metal Mixtures, Biomarkers and Neurodevelopment
Phone: 617-355-6565
Fax: 617-384-8856
david.bellinger@childrens.harvard.edu
John Yong, Center Administrator
Superfund Metal Mixtures, Biomarkers and Neurodevelopment
Phone: 617-432-2219
Fax: 617-432-3441
jyong@hsph.harvard.edu
Joel Schwartz, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: (617) 384-8752
Fax: (617) 384-8752
jschwrtz@hsph.harvard.edu

Louisiana State University


Stephania A Cormier, Center Director
Environmentally Persistent Free Radicals
Phone: (901) 287-5329
scormier@uthsc.edu
Vanessa Pitts-Ponder, Center Administrator
Environmentally Persistent Free Radicals
Phone: 225-578-0259
vpponder@lsu.edu
Maud Walsh, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 225-578-1211
evwals@lsu.edu

Michigan State University


Norbert Kaminski, Center Director
Environmental, Microbial, and Mammalian Biomolecular Responses to AhR Ligands
Phone: 517-353-3786
Fax: 517-353-8915
kamins11@msu.edu
Amy S. Swagart, Center Administrator
Environmental, Microbial, and Mammalian Biomolecular Responses to AhR Ligands
Phone: 517-432-3313
Fax: 517-355-4603
swagart@msu.edu
Brad L. Upham, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 517-884-2051
brad.upham@ht.msu.edu

Northeastern University


Akram N Alshawabkeh, Center Director
Puerto Rico Testsite for Exploring Contamination Threats (PRoTECT)
Phone: (617) 373-3994
aalsha@neu.edu
Christine Gordon, Center Administrator
Puerto Rico Testsite for Exploring Contamination Threats (PRoTECT)
c.gordon@neu.edu
Phil Brown, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 617-373-7407
p.brown@neu.edu

Oregon State University


David E Williams, Center Director
PAHs: New Technologies and Emerging Health Risks
Phone: 541-737-3277
Fax: 541-737-7966
david.williams@oregonstate.edu
Judy Goodenough, Center Administrator
PAHs: New Technologies and Emerging Health Risks
Phone: 541-737-1883
judy.goodenough@oregonstate.edu
Naomi Hirsch, Center Administrator
PAHs: New Technologies and Emerging Health Risks
Phone: 541-737-8105
Fax: 541-737-7966
naomi.hirsch@oregonstate.edu
Sharon K Krueger, Center Administrator
PAHs: New Technologies and Emerging Health Risks
Phone: 541-737-9322
sharon.krueger@oregonstate.edu
Daniel Sudakin, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 541-737-8969
Fax: 541-737-9047
sudakind@ace.orst.edu

University of Arizona


Raina M Maier, Center Director
Hazardous Waste Risk and Remediation in the Southwest
Phone: 520-621-7231
Fax: 520-621-1647
rmaier@ag.arizona.edu
RocĂ­o Estrella, Center Administrator
Hazardous Waste Risk and Remediation in the Southwest
Phone: 520-626-7101
Fax: 520-626-2466
estrella@pharmacy.arizona.edu
Mark L Brusseau, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 520-621-3244
Fax: 520-621-1647
brusseau@ag.arizona.edu
Sarah Wilkinson, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 520-626-7894
wilkinson@pharmacy.arizona.edu

University of California-Berkeley


Martyn T Smith, Center Director
Toxic Substances in the Environment
Phone: 510-642-8770
Fax: 510-642-0427
martynts@berkeley.edu
William Brockett, Center Administrator
Toxic Substances in the Environment
Phone: 510-643-5100
Fax: 510-642-0427
wbrockett@berkeley.edu
Amy D. Kyle, Principal Investigator
Translating Scientific Knowledge for Action to Protect Health and the Environment
Phone: 510-642-8847
Fax: 510-642-5815
adkyle@berkeley.edu

University of California-Davis


Bruce D Hammock, Center Director
Biomarkers of Exposure to Hazardous Substances
Phone: 530-752-7519
Fax: 530-752-1537
bdhammock@ucdavis.edu
Cindy McReynolds, Center Administrator
Biomarkers of Exposure to Hazardous Substances
Phone: (530) 752-8465
cbmcreynolds@ucdavis.edu
Candace Bever, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 530-752-7519
Fax: 530-752-1537
crspier@ucdavis.edu

University of California-San Diego


Robert H Tukey, Center Director
Detection and Models of Toxicant Exposure
Phone: 858-822-0288
Fax: 858-822-0363
rtukey@ucsd.edu
Michelle Feiock, Center Administrator
Detection and Models of Toxicant Exposure
Phone: 858-822-4200
Fax: 858-822-4204
mfeiock@ucsd.edu
Keith Pezzoli, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 858-534-3691
Fax: 858-534-1691
kpezzoli@ucsd.edu
Ilya Zaslavsky, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 858-534-8342
Fax: 858-534-5113
izaslavsky@ucsd.edu

University of Iowa


Larry W Robertson, Center Director
Semi-volatile PCBs: Sources, Exposures, Toxicities
Phone: 319-335-4554
Fax: 319-335-4290
larry-robertson@uiowa.edu
Laura Badtke, Center Administrator
Semi-volatile PCBs: Sources, Exposures, Toxicities
Phone: 319-335-4554
laura-badtke@uiowa.edu
David Osterberg, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 319-335-4424
david-osterberg@uiowa.edu

University of Kentucky


Bernhard Hennig, Center Director
Nutrition and Superfund Chemical Toxicity
Phone: 859-218-1387
Fax: 859-257-1811
bhennig@uky.edu
Jennifer L Moore, Center Administrator
Nutrition and Superfund Chemical Toxicity
Phone: 859-218-1343
Fax: 859-257-1811
j.moore2@uky.edu
Lindell E Ormsbee, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: (859) 257-1299
Fax: (859) 323-1049
lormsbee@engr.uky.edu

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill


James A Swenberg, Center Director
Elucidating Risks: From Exposure and Mechanism to Outcome
Phone: 919-966-6139
Fax: 919-966-6123
james_swenberg@unc.edu
Pamela Mathews, Center Administrator
Elucidating Risks: From Exposure and Mechanism to Outcome
Phone: 919-966-8912
Fax: 919-966-7911
pmathews@email.unc.edu
Kathleen Gray, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 919-966-9799
Fax: 919-966-9920
kgray@unc.edu

University of Pennsylvania


Ian A Blair, Center Director
Asbestos Fate, Exposure, Remediation, and Adverse Health Effects
Phone: 215-573-9880
Fax: 215-573-9889
ianblair@mail.med.upenn.edu
Christine Shwed, Center Administrator
Asbestos Fate, Exposure, Remediation, and Adverse Health Effects
cshwed@exchange.upenn.edu
Richard Pepino, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 215-898-7009
rpepino@sas.upenn.edu

University of Washington


Evan P Gallagher, Center Director
Effects-Related Biomarkers of Environmental Neurotoxic Exposure
Phone: (206) 616-4739
Fax: (206) 685-4696
evang3@u.washington.edu
Jay Chen, Center Administrator
Effects-Related Biomarkers of Environmental Neurotoxic Exposure
Phone: 206-685-1991
Fax: 206-685-3990
jchen33@u.washington.edu
Thomas Burbacher, Principal Investigator
Research Translation Core
Phone: 206-685-1862
Fax: 206-685-3990
tmb@u.washington.edu

Back to top Back to top

Small Business Innovation Research / Small Business Technology Transfer Research (SBIR/STTR) Grantees

BioCement Technologies, Inc.


Malcolm Burbank, Program Director
Using Microbial Induced Calcite Precipitation by Indigenous Soil Bacteria to Reduce Mobility of Lead in Soil
Phone: 208-874-3790
m.burbank@biocementtech.com

Cambrian Innovation Inc.


Zhen Huang, Program Director
BTEX Contaminated Groundwater Remediation by Bio-Electrochemical Systems
Phone: 617-307-1755
zhuang@cambrianinnovation.com
Justin D Buck, Program Director
Rapid Field Testing Kit for Determining Arsenic Contamination in Groundwater
Phone: 617-317-1755
jbuck@cambrianinnovation.com

Edenspace Systems Corporation


Michael J. Blaylock, Program Director
Enhanced Endophyte: Poplar System for Remediation of Organic Contaminants
blaylock@edenspace.com

Lynntech, Inc.


David M Battaglia, Program Director
Enhanced Non fouling Membranes for Water Purification and Recycling
Phone: 979-764-2200
david.battaglia@lynntech.com
Bikas Vaidya, Program Director
Field Deployable Vapor Intrusion Monitor
bikas.vaidya@lynntech.com

Microvi Biotechnologies, Inc.


Fatemeh Shirazi, Program Director
Biocatalyst Platform Technology for Enhancing Cometabolic Biodegradation
Phone: 913-696-9934
Fax: 801-443-5137
fshirazi@microvibiotech.com
Joseph Salanitro, Program Director
Development of a High Performance Bioprocess for Eliminating 1,4-Dioxane in Water
Phone: 510-344-0668
jsalanitro@microvibiotech.com

Morphix Technologies, Inc.


Edward Locke, Program Director
Lead Detection in Soil and Sediment
Phone: 757-431-2260
elocke@morphtec.com

OndaVia, Inc.


Merwan Bernhabib, Program Director
Field-ready and rapid trace-level detection and speciation of arsenic in water
Phone: 510-576-0476
merwan@ondavia.com

Picoyune


Jeff Crosby, Program Director
Gold Nanoparticle-Based Mercury Analyzer for On-Site Measurement of Soil and Sediment
jscrosby@picoyune.com
Jay James, Program Director
Gold Nanoparticle-Based Mercury Analyzer for On-Site Measurement of Soil and Sediment
Phone: 510-915-0152
jayjames@picoyune.com
Don Lucas, Program Director
Gold Nanoparticle-Based Mercury Analyzer for On-Site Measurement of Soil and Sediment
d_lucas@lbl.gov

Pollution Control Technologies, LLC


Kaspars Krutkramelis, Program Director
On Site Mercury Remediation via Activated Fly Ash
Phone: 307-223-2263
pollution.control.tech@gmail.com

TDA Research, Inc.


Robert D Bolskar, Program Director
Perchlorate Sensing Platform for In-Field Groundwater Monitoring
Phone: 303-940-2329
bolskar@tda.com
Robert D Bolskar, Program Director
Quantum Dot Sensors for Superfund Priority Substances
Phone: 303-940-2329
bolskar@tda.com

Zansors LLC


Rebecca Y Lai, Program Director
Disposable Paper-Based Electrochemical Metal Ion Sensors for Water Safety Testing
Phone: 402-472-5340
rlai2@unl.edu

Back to top Back to top

Individual Research Project Grantees

Colorado School of Mines


James F Ranville, Program Director
Investigating Biogeochemical Controls on Metal Mixture Toxicity Using Stable Isotopes and Gene Expressions
Phone: 303-273-3004
Fax: 303-273-3629
jranvill@mines.edu

Duke University


Heileen Hsu-Kim, Program Director
Biogeochemical Framework to Evaluate Mercury Methylation Potential During in-situ Remediation of Contaminated Sediments
Phone: 919-660-5109
hsukim@duke.edu

Johns Hopkins University


Edward J. Bouwer, Program Director
Dual-Biofilm Reactive Barrier for Treatment of Chlorinated Benzenes at Anaerobic-Aerobic Interfaces in Contaminated Groundwater and Sediments
Phone: 410-516-7437
bouwer@jhu.edu
Neal Durant, Program Director
Dual-Biofilm Reactive Barrier for Treatment of Chlorinated Benzenes at Anaerobic-Aerobic Interfaces in Contaminated Groundwater and Sediments
ndurant@geosyntec.com
Michelle Lorah, Program Director
Dual-Biofilm Reactive Barrier for Treatment of Chlorinated Benzenes at Anaerobic-Aerobic Interfaces in Contaminated Groundwater and Sediments
Phone: 443-498-5601
mmlorah@usgs.gov
Amar Wadhawan, Program Director
Dual-Biofilm Reactive Barrier for Treatment of Chlorinated Benzenes at Anaerobic-Aerobic Interfaces in Contaminated Groundwater and Sediments
awadhawan@geosyntec.com

University of California-Berkeley


Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Program Director
Metabolic Interactions Supporting Effective TCE Bioremediation under Various Biogeochemical Conditions
Phone: 510-643-5969
Fax: 510-642-7483
alvarez@ce.berkeley.edu

University of California-Riverside


Jay Gan, Program Director
Exploring the Importance of Aging in Contaminant Bioavailability and Remediation
Phone: 951-827-2712
Fax: 951-827-3993
jgan@ucr.edu
Daniel R Schlenk, Program Director
Exploring the Importance of Aging in Contaminant Bioavailability and Remediation
Phone: (951) 827-2018
Fax: (951) 827-3993
daniel.schlenk@ucr.edu

University of Maryland-Baltimore County


Upal Ghosh, Program Director
Development of in-situ Mercury Remediation Approaches Based on Methylmercury Bioavailability
Phone: 410-455-8665
Fax: 410-455-1769
ughosh@umbc.edu

University of Tennessee


Frank E Loeffler, Program Director
Biogeochemical Controls over Corrinoid Bioavailability to Organohalide-Respiring Chloroflexi
Phone: 865-974-4933
frank.loeffler@utk.edu

Virginia Institute of Marine Science


Aaron Beck, Program Director
Impact of Groundwater-Surface Water Dynamics on in situ Remediation Efficacy and Bioavailability of NAPL Contaminants
Phone: 804-684-7494
Fax: 804-684-7786
abeck@vims.edu
Michael Unger, Program Director
Impact of Groundwater-Surface Water Dynamics on in situ Remediation Efficacy and Bioavailability of NAPL Contaminants
Phone: 804-684-7187
munger@vims.edu

Back to Top