

Figure 2. Main subdivisions of the embryonic mouse central nervous system. The early embryonic brain (left image) is composed of 3 swellings at the cephalic end of the neural tube that develop into 3 primary brain vesicles: prosencephalon (forebrain), mesencephalon (midbrain), and rhombencephalon (hindbrain). Soon after (right image), the 3 vesicles shift their contours to assume a 5-vesicle conformation. The prosencephalon divides into the telencephalon (paired cerebral hemispheres) and the