Skip Navigation


Export to Word (
Principal Investigator: Dai, Yuan
Institute Receiving Award Texas A&M Agrilife Research
Location College Station, TX
Grant Number R01ES032708
Funding Organization National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Award Funding Period 01 Jan 2021 to 31 Oct 2025
DESCRIPTION (provided by applicant): Project Summary The recalcitrant and harmful chemicals such as PFASs (per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances), endangers the environmental, wild-life, and human health profoundly. Among different strategies, bioremediation was established as an effective and reliable solution for remediating persistent environmental contaminants like PFASs. Fungi, such as basidiomycetes (i.e. white rot fungi) are used in bioremediation of PFAS for their strong extracellular biocatalytic capacity with great promise. However, several factors limit commercial applications: 1) need for nutrient addition as the carbon source for the microbe; 2) need to immobilize fungus biomass as pellets to prevent fungus dispersion onto reactor wall; 3) bacterial competition; 4) low efficiency due to the low chemical availability to the fungal mycelium and slow fungus growth. The proposed research will address the imminent challenges of remediating persistent and toxic environmental contaminants using the uniquely designed Nanomaterial-Fungus Framework (NFF). The NFF is a system that novel nano-materials create a biomimic scaffold where fungus can grow, and the scaffold enriches trace level contaminants that fungus can degrade. We aim to unveil the fundamental biodegradation mechanisms of the NFF system, which provides future guidance to modify and improve the system. The engineered NFF system will offer a novel strategy that applies toward a broad range of environmental pollutant bioremediation practices.
Science Code(s)/Area of Science(s) Primary: 25 - Superfund Basic Research (non- P42 center grants)
Secondary: 03 - Carcinogenesis/Cell Transformation
Publications No publications associated with this grant
Program Officer Heather Henry
to Top